Lisa Sullivan

Lisa Sullivan is the owner of Bartleby’s Books. Lisa left the hectic world of high-tech marketing for the quiet life in Vermont. The quiet lasted about six months, until she started working in bookstores, community volunteerism, and raising children. She is a reader of fiction, memoir, young adult and cookbooks. Lisa hopes to one day have enough time to use some of the fantastic cookbook library she is building. Lisa lives in Wilmington with her husband, Phil Taylor and their three children, Ally, Zach and Jacob.

Lisa's Picks:

Soon the Light Will be Perfect

by Dave Patterson

A coming of age story set in Vermont - GREAT writing!

Women Talking

by Miriam Toews

Based on a true story of sexual abuse in an isolated culture. Women Talking is just that - women talking and trying to decide their path forward.

Daisy Jones & the Six

by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Told interview-style, the reader is immersed in the memories of the members of the band - terrific!

The Girl He Used to Know

by Tracey Garvis Graves

Ten years after their post college break-up, Annika & Jonathan run into each other. What happened back then? What can happen now?

Born a Crime

by Trevor Noah

Trevor Noah's wonderful memoir of growing up in South Africa as the son of a white father & black mother - literally "born a crime".

What You Don't Know About Charlie Outlaw

by Leah Stewart

Told from two points of view - a bit of Hollywood, a love story, & a kidnapping!

Look Alive Out There

by Sloane Crosley

Funny essays! From freezing her eggs to obsessing over her loud teenage neighbor this was hard to put down.

Auntie Poldie and the Sicilian Lions

by Mario Giordano

A mystery set in Sicily with an amateur detective. Pure delight!

The Fifth Petal

Brunonia Barry

Set in Salem (like the Lace Reader) with witches and spells throughout. This is a real page-turner.

2am at the Cat's Pajamas

Marie-Helene Bertino

A colorful cast of characters and a failing jazz club make for a wonderful story that takes place on one day.

We Need New Names

NoViolet Bulawayo

Beautifully written! Zimbabwe to America- told through the eyes of a child.

Hello, Sunshine

Laura Dave

What if our social media personality begins to threaten our real lives? Good story about love and life in the digital age.

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine

Gail Honeyman

Well... maybe she's not, but can she be? For fans of "Where'd You Go, Bernadette?"

Saints For All Occasions

J Courtney Sullivan

Loved this family drama! Irish immigrant story set in and around Boston Secrets.

Unreliable

Lee Irby

Unreliable for sure! Who is reliable in this humorous mystery?

The Shark Club

Ann Kidd Taylor

Good writing! Great story about how the past & the future collide with an ocean setting.

A French Wedding

Hannah Tunnicliffe

The Big Chill for the next generation. Food, love, friendships-set in France!

The Perfect Stranger

Megan Miranda

A fast-paced read. How well do you really know people?

Sycamore

Bryan Chancellor

Told from multiple points of view, from the people in a small town in Arizona, years after the disappearance of a local teenager--and how it has affec...

The Book of Polly

Kathy Hepinstall

You will fall in love Polly ( with all her idiosyncrasies!) & her daughter willow. Great read!

Today Will Be Different

Maria Semple

Loved this! Today will be different until everything goes wrong.

Hillbilly Elegy

J.D. Vance

The Real Liddy James

Anne-Marie Casey

A great story about a high powered New York attorney whose life begins to unravel. Fun & heartwarming!

Don't You Cry

Mary Kubica

I have enjoyed all of Mary Kubica's thrillers. This one kept me guessing until the end.

Behind Closed Doors

B.A. Paris

I almost didn't put a pick on this book because it's so disturbing. But if you like disturbing, then this one is for you. PAGE-TURNER.

The Last One

Alexandra Oliva

A survival reality show goes haywire when an epidemic breaks out. What's the game and what's real?

Evicted

Matthew Desmond

Told through the eyes of both landlords and tenants, an eye-opening narrative of the plight of evicted tenants in Milwaukee.

Sweetgirl

Travis Mulhauser

The Widow

Fiona Barton

What does she know? Is it true? Keeps you guessing!

Everything Everything

Nicola Yoon

A great read from a different point of view.

This is Your Life, Harriet Chance

Jonathon Evison

Great voice! Very funny, I loved it!

Where'd you Go, Bernadette?

Maria Semple

Told by many voices in epistolary form (email, fax, etc.). Great read!

Be Frank With Me

Julia Claiborne Johnson

Great read! Set in LA with a reclusive author, her eccentric son and the editor sent to babysit.

The Flood Girls

Richard Fifield

Set in small town Montana with a quirky set of characters.

Sweetgirl

Travis Mulhauser

The Rocks

Peter Nichols

Lisa's summer pick.  Great read set in Mallorca.  

We Are Called to Rise

Laura McBride

Told in multiple voices, this story stays with you.  It tells  the stories of soldiers, children, and behind-the-glitz Las Vegas.

You

Caroline Kepnes

Gone Girl hipster style. Creepy!

Take This Man

Brando Skyhorse

Great, compelling memoir! Also, check out his fiction, The Madonnas of Echo Park.

Lucky Us

Amy Bloom

Love Amy Bloom! Good history & great storytelling. Good read!

The Silver Star

Jeannette Walls

Good read by the author of the glass castle.

Bastard out of Carolina

Dorothy Allison

This book stays with you for a long time.

When She Woke

Hillary Jordan

Futuristic telling of The Scarlet Letter-SUPERB!

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell

Rowell doesn't disappoint!!

Cinder

Marissa Meyer

A retelling of Cinderella where she is a cyborg! Fantastic!

Please reload